The Commandments: A Legal Code

The Ten Commandments combine religious and moral rules in a code for Jewish people. Many of the moral rules are now enforced by laws. Read the commandments.

1. You shall have no other gods but me.
2. You shall not make any idols.
3. You shall not take the name of your Lord in vain.
4. You shall remember and keep holy the Sabbath day.
5. Honour your father and mother.
6. You shall not kill.
7. You shall not commit adultery.
8. You shall not steal.
9. You shall not bear false witness against your neighbour.
10. You shall not covet your neighbour’s goods.

Which commandments are laws today?